

Make Committee Changes

President H. C. Black announces certain changes in committee personnel for the American Oil Chemists' Society for the year 1957-58. B. N. Rockwood will replace V. C. Mehlenbacher on the subcommittee on color standards of the Fat Analysis Committee; and R. C. Stillman will be added. R. R. Allen will replace R. C. Walker on the Spectroscopy Committee.

Memphis Arrangements for Meeting Proceeding Well

FULL TECHNICAL PROGRAM is promised for the 49th annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society in Memphis, April 21-23, 1958, at the Peabody hotel, according to Allen Smith, general chairman, and S. J. Rini, program chairman. The social events are also well thought out.

The Sunday evening mixer will be sponsored by the Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, and on Monday evening there is a tentative plan for a barbecue and square dance. The traditional Past Presidents' dinner will be in charge of J. R. Mays Jr. Don Reid's orchestra will play for the banquet on Tuesday. T. L. Rettger is arranging for the reception. Plant trips are being scheduled, also the annual golf tournament for Tuesday afternoon. Mrs. Rini, ladies' chairman, is planning a fashion show

and luncheon at the Ridgeway Country club, also a boat trip on the Memphis Queen on the mighty Mississippi.

The outgoing Governing Board will meet on Sunday, with H. C. Black in the chair; and the incoming Board, with J. C. Konen presiding, will meet at the end of the three-day convention. Monday morning will be devoted to annual reports.



SKY-LINE OF MEMPHIS—This view, courtesy of the Memphis Chamber of Commerce, shows the city as it appears to the east of the Mississippi river.

New Members...

Active

- Robert J. Ballentine, chief chemist, U. S. Sanitary Specialties Corporation, Chicago, Ill.
- Betty Ann Bernard, chemist, Emery Industries Inc., Cincinnati, O.
- Richard A. Coderre, technologist, Shell Chemical Corporation, New York, N. Y.
- Robert Dean Cole, research chemist, Glidden Company, Chicago, Ill.
- Solomon Epstein, president, Sole Chemical Corporation. Chicago, Ill. Manuel N. Fineman, technical director, Puritan Chemical
- Company, Atlanta, Ga.
- Nicholas C. Gangemi, assistant director of research, Pennsylvania Industrial Chemical Corporation, Chester, Pa.
- Erwin Jack Hohhof, technical director, assistant to the president, H. J. Mayer and Sons Company Inc., Chicago, Ill.
- Charles Carter Litchfield, overseas development engineer, Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, O.
- John William Lohr, group leader, Detergent Development, Andrew Jergens Company, Cincinnati, O.
- Maurilio Renoldi, technical director and plant manager, Aceite CASA, S.A., Mexico, D.F.
- Richard Sasin, associate professor, Drexel Institute of Technology, Philadelphia, Pa.
- Herbert Sweeney, technical director, Peerless Refining Company Ltd., Liverpool, England
- John William Thomas, chemist, Coastal Laboratories Inc., Marrero, La.
- Cyril H. Tobias, chemist, Canada Packers Ltd., Vancouver, Canada.
- Robert M. Uschan, plant chemist, Orthmann Laboratories Inc., Milwaukee, Wis.
- Fred M. Wells, manager, Technical Division, Buckeye Cellulose Corporation, Cincinnati, O.

Individual Associate

- William Clyde Dean, chemist, Dothan Oil Mill Company, Dothan, Ala.
- David C. Johnson, research chemist, Swift and Company, Chicago, Ill.
- Lida Placek, Southern Regional Research Laboratory, New Orleans, La.
- James F. Whalen Jr., Midwest manager, Becco Chemical Division, Chicago, Ill.

Corporation Associate

Franklin Research, Philadelphia, Pa.

Deuel Award Established

HE HARRY J. DEUEL JR. award in biochemistry and nutrition has been established by the Graduate School

of the University of Southern California. Through the generosity of his many friends at the time of his death and subsequently a fund has been started, which will provide for a certificate and a cash award to be made annually to the outstanding recipient of the Ph.D. degree in the fields of Dr. Deuel's interest.

The university hopes in this way to continue to give recognition to Dr. Deuel's contributions as professor and chairman of the Department of Biochemistry and Nutrition from 1930 on and dean of the Graduate School from 1949, also to continue to promote those qualities of scholarship and scientific and personal integrity which he exemplified to such a high degree.

The first award has been given to Abraham M. Stein at the 1957 commencement. He is now a post-doctoral fellow in the Department of Biochemistry at Brandeis University.